Why I abandoned my 1M+ views on Quora.

Kritiketan (Kittu) Sharma
3 min readJul 30, 2020

--

Why I left Quora and joined medium.

To be totally honest, I had not been a Quoran (Yeah, that) for really long, but long enough to build the desire to be a top writer.

While being a top writer on Quora did not translate to real dollars, it did get you bragging rights and the coveted top writer hoodie.

For those of you unaware of what Quora is, it’s a platform similar to medium, but imagine a Question and Answer format instead of a free-flowing long-form article, like here.

Now that we are all caught up with what Quora is and my creds on there let’s understand why Medium is a better place to be.

  1. Questions get answers: While medium gives you the freedom of writing about anything under the sky, Quora has a Q&A structure. What to write was a question answered by hours of scavenging through the platform. Lost Time. Energy. Spirits. (90% of the reason I moved on)
Not quite my jam!

2. Incentivized curiosity: This may seem like such a great thing. I mean a platform promoting curiosity and seldom paying for it as well. It didn’t take long for curiosity to be replaced by its uglier cousin greed. It increasingly became more about getting those rewards, causing a sharp decline in the quality of questions.

3. Bad content ranks as well: Need I say more. When the platform gained momentum, it brought a swarm of bad answers with it. How did Quora deal with it? They did not. Seeing random responses on top was became a common sight. On the contrary, bad content drowns on Medium.

4. Where is the money: While I am not in it for the money, and neither of the platforms on average can’t be a replacement for a full-time job. Having said that, Medium is fairly straightforward with its policy on monetization, while Quora is ambiguous.

5. Paywall over Ad Wall: It’s probably more from a reader POV. I'd rather pay a nominal fee rather than look at the new flight from Dubai to Singapore by Emirates.

While I have enjoyed Quora for quite a bit, it’s time we part ways. It probably has more to do with the Q&A format of the platform than anything else. It's still a place to share knowledge if you enjoy answering.

Fin.

--

--